Cleveland State Wins James J. McCafferty All-Sports Trophy

Cleveland State Wins James J. McCafferty All-Sports Trophy

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Bolstered by four Horizon League Championships and a pair of league runner-up finishes, Cleveland State claimed the James J. McCafferty Trophy, which is presented annually by the Horizon League in recognition of the league's all-sport champion. The award was presented by the Horizon League office on Tuesday at the league's spring meetings in Chicago.

This marks the second McCafferty Trophy for CSU, which also claimed the award at the end of the 2007-08 season.

"Capturing the Horizon League All Sports Trophy is a source of great pride for the CSU Department of Athletics," CSU Director of Athletics John Parry said. "Our theme this year was 'Finish Viking Strong' and the collective success of our teams is a tribute to the support staff, coaches and student-athletes."

CSU finished the year with 45 points, four points ahead of Loyola which was second with 41 points. Milwaukee finished third with 39.5 points and with UIC finishing fourth with 36.5 points. Detroit was fifth with 36 points with Valparaiso (35 points), Youngstown State (28), Green Bay (22) and Wright State (16) rounding out the standings.

The Vikings were tied for third place with 14 points after the fall season and remained in third place after the winter season with 26 points, 10 points behind Loyola and six back of Milwaukee.

But in the span of 48 hours in late April, the Vikings scored 17.5 points in men's and women's golf and men's and women's tennis to vault to the top of the standings. And when the softball team defeated Loyola in an elimination game of the league tournament to secure at least one point, the trophy belonged to CSU.

The Vikings earned 26 of their 45 overall points in the men's sports to claim the Men's All-Sports Award. CSU earned seven points in men's soccer, men's swimming and diving and men's tennis and five points in men's golf.

The 19 points on the women's side came from five sports with CSU finishing fourth in the Women's All Sports Award. Volleyball tallied seven points with women's swimming and diving earning five. Women's golf scored three points, while women's tennis tallied 2.5 points and softball recorded the final 1.5 points.

Handed out every year since 1979-80, the McCafferty Trophy is named after James J. McCafferty, the former Xavier University men's basketball coach and athletics director who served as the league's commissioner.

Points are passed out in all 19 Horizon League Championship sports with seven points going for first, five for second, three for third, two for second and one for third. The results of the priority sports of baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's soccer, softball and volleyball are weighted with the regular season standings accounting for 60-percent and the postseason tournament for 40-percent. Indoor and outdoor track and field and considered one sport with 50-percent of points coming from indoor and 50-percent from outdoor.

The points in the remaining sports are based entirely on results from respective Horizon League Championships.


2012-13 McCafferty Trophy Standings 

1. Cleveland State 45
2. Loyola 41
3. Milwaukee 39.5
4. UIC 36.5
5. Detroit 36
6. Valparaiso 35
7. Youngstown State 28
8. Green Bay 22
9. Wright State 16

Men's Sports
1. Cleveland State 26
2. Milwaukee 22
3. Valparaiso 21
4. Detroit 17.5
5. Loyola 17
6. UIC 13.5
7. Green Bay 10
8. Wright State 9.5
9. Youngstown State 5.5

Women's Sports 
1. Loyola 24
2. UIC 23
3. Youngstown State 22.5
4. Cleveland State 19
5. Detroit 18.5
6. Milwaukee 17.5
7. Valparaiso 14
8. Green Bay 12
9. Wright State 6.5