Rob Edwards Named Second Team All-Horizon League

Rob Edwards Named Second Team All-Horizon League

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Cleveland State sophomore guard Rob Edwards has been named to the All-Horizon League second team in voting by the League's 10 head coaches, sports information directors and select media members.

Edwards ranks sixth in the Horizon League in scoring (16.1), second in steals (1.4) and ninth in three-pointers (2.0). He has eight 20-point games this year, including a career-high 32 points in a win at regular season League champion Oakland (Jan. 16). That broke his previous career-high of 28 points at top-ranked Kentucky on Nov. 23 when he set career-highs in field goals made (12) and attempted (21).

Edwards' 484 points this year are the fourth most for a sophomore in program history, trailing Ken McFadden (708), Clinton Ransey (535), Bryn Forbes (498) and Norris Cole (492). Edwards is 16 points shy of becoming the 17th player in school history to reach 500 points in a season.

He has scored 882 points during his first two seasons at CSU.

Edwards was joined in the all-league second team by Jaleel Hogan of Detroit Mercy, Green Bay's Charles Cooper, Martez Walker of Oakland and Shane Hammink from Valparaiso.

Valparaiso's Alec Peters was named the Horizon League Player of the Year and headlines the all-league first team. Peters was joined on the squad by Jalen Hayes of Oakland, Drew McDonald from Northern Kentucky, Wright State's Mark Alstork and Cameron Morse from Youngstown State.

Edwards and the eighth seeded Vikings open play in the 2017 Horizon League Championship with a first round game against ninth-seeded Youngstown State on Friday (March 3) at 8:00 pm at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit, Mich.

The winner will advance to a second round game vs. top-seeded Oakland on Saturday (March 4) at 5:30 pm.

First Team All-Horizon League
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Jalen Hayes, Oakland
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Mark Alstork, Wright State
Cameron Morse, Youngstown State

Second Team All-Horizon League
Rob Edwards, Cleveland State
Jaleel Hogan, Detroit Mercy
Charles Cooper, Green Bay
Martez Walker, Oakland
Shane Hammink, Valparaiso

All-Freshman Team
Corey Allen, Detroit Mercy
Carson Williams, Northern Kentucky
Isaiah Brock, Oakland
Tarkus Ferguson, UIC
Dominique Matthews, UIC

All-Defensive Team
Kenneth Lowe, Green Bay
Khalil Small, Green Bay
Isaiah Brock, Oakland
Tai Odiase, UIC
Tevonn Walker, Valparaiso

Player of the Year
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Coach of the Year
John Brannen, Northern Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
Corey Allen, Detroit Mercy

Defensive Player of the Year
Tai Odiase, UIC

Sixth Man of the Year
Warren Jones, Green Bay