Appleby, Williams Earn Horizon League Postseason Honors

Appleby, Williams Earn Horizon League Postseason Honors

INDIANAPOLIS – Cleveland State's Tyree Appleby and Rashad Williams have each been named to the All-Horizon League team as selected by head coaches and media members and announced by the conference office on Tuesday.

Appleby was named Second Team All-Horizon League, while Williams was named to the All-Freshman team.

Appleby, who was named to the All-Freshman team last season, put together an outstanding sophomore season.

He currently leads the Horizon League averaging 5.6 assists per game and is the only player in the league to rank in the top five in points, assists and steals per game.

Appleby finished the season averaging a team-leading 17.2 points per game, while also averaging 3.7 rebounds and 1.5 steals per contest.

Appleby reached double figures in scoring in 23 games and became the first player in Cleveland State history to notch a triple-double when he had 19 points, 11 rebounds and 11 assists against Milwaukee on Feb. 9 in the Wolstein Center.

Appleby was named the Horizon League Player of the Week on Dec. 10.

Williams earned All-Freshman honors with a record-setting season.

He broke the Cleveland State freshman record for three-pointers in a season with 91, which easily topped the previous school record of 66 held by James Madison. Williams also broke the CSU freshman record for three-pointers in a game when he made seven at Illinois State on Dec. 16.

Williams finished the season averaging 10.8 points per game and currently leads the Horizon League shooting 40.8 percent from the three-point line. He also tops the Horizon League shooting 43.4 percent from beyond the arc in conference games.

Williams is fourth in the Horizon League averaging 2.9 three-point baskets per game and had 16 games on the season with at least four three-pointers.

He earned Horizon League Freshman of the Week honors on Dec. 17 and Jan. 28.

2019 Horizon League Men's Basketball Award Winners
Player of the Year: Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Defensive Player of the Year:
D.J. McCall, IUPUI
Freshman of the Year:
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Sixth Man of the Year: Jaylen Minnett, IUPUI
Coach of the Year: Scott Nagy, Wright State

All-League First Team (alphabetical by school)
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Sandy Cohen III, Green Bay
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Xavier Hill-Mais, Oakland
Loudon Love, Wright State

All-League Second Team (alphabetical by school)
Tyree Appleby, Cleveland State
Camron Justice, IUPUI
Tarkus Ferguson, UIC
Bill Wampler, Wright State
Darius Quisenberry, Youngstown State

All-Freshman Team (alphabetical by school)
Rashad Williams, Cleveland State
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Braden Norris, Oakland
Malachi Smith, Wright State
Darius Quisenberry, Youngstown State

All-Defensive Team (alphabetical by school)
D.J. McCall, IUPUI
Jalen Tate, Northern Kentucky
Parker Ernsthausen, Wright State
Mark Hughes, Wright State
Garrett Covington, Youngstown State