Men's Golf Headed to Illinois for NCAA Regionals

Men's Golf Headed to Illinois for NCAA Regionals

CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Cleveland State men's golf team is heading to Rich Harvest Farms just outside of Chicago for the NCAA Men's Golf Championship Regionals from May 15-17.

The selections were announced on Monday morning on The Golf Channel's Morning Drive.

Rich Harvest Farms is a par-72 course that plays 7,735-yards and is about 50 miles west of Chicago.

This will be CSU's fifth appearance at the regionals in the last nine years after the Vikings won the Horizon League Championship last week in Florida by three shots over Detroit. CSU also played in the NCAA regionals in 2006, 2008, 2009 and 2011.

The Vikings are the No. 13 seed in the region that includes No. 1 California, No. 2 Illinois, No. 3 USC, No. 4 Alabama-Birmingham, No. 5 UNLV, No. 6 Clemson, No. 7 Kent State, No. 8 Purdue, No. 9 Mississippi State, No. 10 Cal Fullerton, No. 11 New Mexico State, No. 12 Jacksonville State and No. 14 Saint Peter's

CSU has seven top-four finishes this year, including a win at the league championship and four runner-up finishes.

Three-time Horizon League Player of the Year Andrew Bailey (2012, 2013, 2014) leads the way with a 72.1 scoring average and has posted rounds of par or better in 18 of his 30 rounds this year. The medalist at the league championship, he has three wins this year and six top-five finishes.

Junior Michael Balcar sports a 74.5 scoring average and was a first team All-Horizon League selection for the second straight year this season. He has two top-five finishes, including a tie for fifth place at the league championship to earn a spot on the all-tournament team.

Senior Brendan Byrne averages 75.6 per round and joined Bailey and Balcar on the all-tournament team as he tied for seventh place with back-to-back rounds of 73 to close the tournament.

Sophomore lefty Mitchell Moore is CSU's No. 4 golfer and has a 76.3 scoring average with one top-10 finish, while freshman Pat Luth carries a 77.0 scoring average from the five spot. Luth fired a final round 73 at the league championship that helped CSU claim the title.

Rich Harvest Farms – Sugar Grove, Illinois
Hosted by the Northern Illinois

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Cal
2. Illinois
3. USC
4. Alabama-Birmingham
6. Clemson
7. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]
8. Purdue
9. Mississippi State
10. Cal State Fullerton [Big West Conference]
11. New Mexico State [Western Athletic Conference]
12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. Cleveland State [Horizon League]
14. Saint Peter's [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]

1. Niall Platt, Notre Dame
2. Chris O'Neill, Michigan
3. Danny Pizetoski, Richmond
4. Juan Veloza, Towson
5. Rob van de Vin, IUPUI