Robbins Earns Spot on All-Horizon League Team

Robbins Earns Spot on All-Horizon League Team

INDIANAPOLIS – Cleveland State sophomore Zach Robbins has been named to the All-Horizon League team as selected by the conference head coaches and announced by the league office on Saturday.

Robbins, who was named Second Team All-Horizon League, earned his first career All-Horizon League honor after leading the Vikings with a 74.6 stroke average entering the Horizon League Tournament.

Robbins had two top-five finishes and three top-20 finishes on the season.

He was named the Horizon League Golfer of the Week on April 10 after leading the Vikings at the Wildcats Spring Invitational. He shot a career-best 65 on day two of the tournament and tied for third in the medalist standings.

The First Team All-Horizon League team consisted of Austin Crowder and Nick Bienz of IUPUI, Jacob Poore of Northern Kentucky, Chris Handy of Oakland and Kevin Scherr of Youngstown State.

Joining Robbins on the second team was George Kneiser of Green Bay, Thomas Giroux of Oakland and Mitch Lehigh and Austin Schoonmaker of Wright State.

Crowder earned Golfer of the Year honors, while Anthony Occhiuto of Detroit Mercy was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year. Jamie Broce of IUPUI was selected as the Coach of the Year.


Golfer of the Year

Austin Crowder, IUPUI


Freshman of the Year

Anthony Occhiuto, Detroit Mercy


Coach of the Year

Jamie Broce, IUPUI


First Team All-Horizon League

Austin Crowder, IUPUI

Nick Bienz, IUPUI

Jacob Poore, Northern Kentucky

Chris Handy, Oakland

Kevin Scherr, Youngstown State


Second Team All-Horizon League

Zach Robbins, Cleveland State

George Kneiser, Green Bay

Thomas Giroux, Oakland

Mitch Lehigh, Wright State

Austin Schoonmaker, Wright State