Six Vikings Earn All-Horizon League Honors

Six Vikings Earn All-Horizon League Honors

Nov. 7, 2011

Contact: Tim Ertle

Follow Men's Soccer on TWITTER
CSU Athletics on YouTube

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The Cleveland State men's soccer team received some good news as they prepared to host Loyola in the opening round of the Horizon League Championships on Tuesday (Nov. 8). The Vikings placed six student-athletes - including a league-best three first team selections - on the all-league teams which were announced Monday afternoon by the Horizon League.

Junior forward Aaron Adkins, redshirt sophomore forward Admir Suljevic and senior midfielder Manuel Conde all were named to the All-Horizon League first team.

Sophomore midfielder Aslinn Rodas and junior goalkeeper Brad Stuver were named to the all-league second team.

Freshman Mike Derezic earned recognition on the all-newcomer squad.

Adkins, named to the all-newcomer team in 2009, led the club with nine goals scored, second in the league behind UIC's Ivan Stanisavljevic who finished with 10. He added an assist to finish the season with 19 points which tied for second in the league. Adkins was named the Horizon League `Player of the Week' twice, and his nine goals were the most by a Viking since Stephen Ademolu scored 12 during the 2003 season.

Suljevic, forced to sit out the entire 2010 season due to injury, rebounded with a standout redshirt sophomore season. His seven goals tied him for fourth in the league despite missing five matches - including two league contests - due to injury. He finished the season with 1.46 points per game, the highest output in the league and tied with Adkins for a league-high four game-winning goals.

Conde was a second team all-league performer last year in his first year with the Vikings. He improved to a first team selection in his senior season, finishing the year with three assists, two of which came in league matches.

Rodas, also an all-newcomer team selection in 2010, finished his second season with a goal and four assists. He solidified the Viking midfield and was in head coach Ali Kazemaini's starting lineup 17 times this season. In the middle of the league season, Rodas propelled CSU to a big road win at UIC by assisting on both goals in a 2-1 victory over the Flames.

Stuver was the eraser for the Vikings all season long, finishing the season with a 9-7-1 mark. He recorded five shutouts, the second most in the league, with three blankings coming against league opponents. The junior from Twinsburg, Ohio shined in league matches, making a league-best 36 stops and an .818 save percentage in eight league starts. Stuver's 63 saves tied him for fourth in the Horizon League. He was named the league's `Player of the Week' after making 11 stops in a 2-1 road win at UIC, the second most saves by a Horizon League goalie this season and the most in a league match.

Derezic stepped in and contributed right away in his freshman campaign. The Vikings lost midfielder John Wargo, second on the 2010 team in points, due to injury and the rookie from Lakewood, Ohio started all 15 games to cover up the loss. He finished the year with one goal and one assist.

The Vikings, seeded third, will host Loyola at 7:00 p.m. on Tuesday (Nov. 8). Cleveland State defeated Loyola, 4-0, earlier this season thanks to a hat trick from Aaron Adkins.

1st Team All-League:
Tony Walls, Green Bay
Stefan Antonijevic, Valparaiso
Ivan Stanisavljevic, UIC
Admir Suljevic, Cleveland State
Aaron Adkins, Cleveland State
Bryce Rockwell-Ashton, Wright State
Eric Frazier, UIC
Austin Oldham, Butler
Manual Conde, Cleveland State
Brian Cothern, Wright State
Kyle Zobeck, Valparaiso

2nd Team All-League:
Stuart Grable, Green Bay
Robert Refai, Milwaukee
Wei Ming-Wong, Valparaiso
Jonathon Smith, Valparaiso
Andrew Stone, Green Bay
Zach Steinberger, Butler
Aslinn Rodas, Cleveland State
Guy Shabtay, Valparaiso
Paul Tracy, UIC
James Howe, Loyola
Brad Stuver, Cleveland State

All-Newcomer Team:
Craig Feehan, Wright State
Justin Laird, Wright State
Zach Steinberger, Butler
Mike Derezic, Cleveland State
Eric Nieto, Valparaiso
Kirby Allen, Green Bay
Gustav Svensson, Wright State
Brian Bement, Loyola
Zev Taublieb, Valparaiso
Jesus Torres, UIC
Gerardo Saavedra, Milwaukee

Offensive Player of the Year: Ivan Stanisavljevic, UIC
Defensive Player of the Year: Stefan Antonijevic, Valparaiso
Newcomer of the Year: Craig Feehan, Wright State
Coach of the Year: Mike Avery, Valparaiso