Men's Swimming Earns Win Over Niagara

Men's Swimming Earns Win Over Niagara

CLEVELAND, OH – The Cleveland State men's and women's swimming and diving teams continued the 2014-15 season at the Vikings first home meet of the season against Niagara University at the Robert F. Busbey Natatorium on Friday afternoon.

The men's team won with a 160-73 decision, while the women also beat the Purple Eagles, 149.5-86.5.

The Vikings had 19 first place winners in the individual swimming and diving events.

For the men's squad, the Vikings took the top four spots in the 200 freestyle with Nathan Grant leading the pack (1:45.88), while Philipp Sikatzki placed first in the 50 freestyle (21.01) and 100 back (49.30). Gage Alleman placed first in the 200 IM with a time of 1:55.38. Adam Ingledew won the 100 fly with a time of 51.97. Robert Tolson placed first in the 100 free (47.67). Patrick Walsh took first place in the 500 free with a time of 4:50.69. Danny Roberts won the 1 meter (320.75) and 3 meter (327.20) diving events. The 200 medley relay teams placed first and second with times of 1:33.86 and 1:35.84. The 200 free relay team took first with a time of 1:25.87.

The Viking women also had an impressive day. Jodi Turk placed first in the 1,000 free (10:50.41) and the 200 IM (2:15.84). Alexandra McConnell swam the best time in the 200 free with a time of 1:59.61 and 100 free in a tie with Liz Tamas (55.60). Meghan Miller also tied for first in the 100 fly (1:00.38). In the 50 free, Jamie VanDewerker placed first with a time of 25.12. Bethany Robertson won the 500 free with an impressive time of 5:17.52. Samantha Sposet won the 1 meter (270) and 3 meter (273.90) diving events. Kayley Chevalier won the 100 yard breast (1:10.92). The 200 medley relay team took first place with a time of 1:52.22. Time 200 free relay team also took first with a time of 1:41.10.

The Vikings will be back in action on Saturday (Oct. 25) at home where the men face off against Valparaiso and the women go against Valparaiso and Youngstown State with events beginning at 2 p.m.