Kuelker & Shabib Earn Horizon League Postseason Honors

Kuelker & Shabib Earn Horizon League Postseason Honors

Photo Gallery

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Cleveland State men's tennis team had two players honored by the Horizon League Thursday evening, as Matt Kuelker and Ali Shabib were named to All-Horizon League Teams. The league made the announcement Thursday evening at the annual Tennis Banquet.

Kuelker, a senior from St. Louis, Mo., picked up First Team honors – marking the fourth straight year that he has earned postseason accolades from the league. This is his first time being named to the All-League First Team.

Entering the Horizon League Tournament, Kuelker has a team-best 25-9 singles record, including an 18-3 mark this spring. He finished the regular season with a 5-1 mark in league singles matches, playing all six matches at the top of the lineup.

In doubles, Kuelker owns a 16-13 record, including a 12-7 mark with Nolan Marks. As CSU's No. 2 doubles team, Kuelker and Marks finished the regular season with a 5-1 mark in league doubles matches.

Shabib, a junior from Copenhagen, Denmark, picked up Second Team honors for the second straight year. Playing in the top half of the singles lineup, Shabib has posted a 15-17 record this season, including a 9-11 mark this spring.

Playing the majority of the Horizon League schedule at No. 2 singles, Shabib has posted a 3-3 record against league opponents heading into the Horizon League Tournament.

Shabib has also been part of Cleveland State's No. 1 doubles team this spring, posting a 10-8 record with Joe VanMeter. The duo notched a 3-1 record in league play, and has won five straight matches entering the weekend.

Kuelker and Shabib will look to lead the Vikings to their sixth Horizon League Tournament Title this weekend, as CSU begins play with a semifinal contest on Saturday, April 26 at 3:00 p.m. The Vikings will face the winner of the No. 3 Wright State/No. 6 Youngstown State First Round contest.

Horizon League Postseason Honors

First Team All-League:
Matt Kuelker, Cleveland State
Jeffrey Schorsch, Valparaiso
Michael Tenzer, Green Bay
Leopold Gomez- Islinger, Green Bay
Howard Scott, Green Bay
Lauri Makikalli, Wright State

Second Team All-League:
Ali Shabib, Cleveland State
Bobby Cawood, Detroit
Dave Bacalla, Valparaiso
Daniel Gilbert, Wright State
Hayden Joblin, Wright State
Sebastian Hagn, Youngstown State

Men's Player of the Year: Michael Tenzer, Green Bay
Men's Freshman of the Year: Jeffrey Schorsch, Valparaiso
Men's Coach of the Year: Mark Thomas, Green Bay
Men's Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Bobby Cawood, Detroit