Mostardi Earns Spot On #HLMTEN All-Academic Team

Mostardi Earns Spot On #HLMTEN All-Academic Team

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Horizon League announced the 2019 Men's Tennis All-Academic Team Tuesday afternoon, with Cleveland State junior Nico Mostardi earning a spot on the seven-player team.

Mostardi, who is now a two-time All-Academic Team member, carries a 3.73 GPA pursuing a degree in marketing. The Cleveland, Ohio native has been named to the Cleveland State Dean's List five times – every semester of his collegiate career – and has been a two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete and three-time CSU Athletic Academic Honoree.

On the court, Mostardi is Cleveland State's No. 1 singles player, owning a 23-10 overall singles record this year. In Horizon League play, Mostardi posted a perfect 6-0 record at the top of the lineup, and owns a 14-1 record against league opponents over the last two years.

With his 23 wins so far this season, Mostardi has recorded back-to-back 20-win campaigns, and enters the Horizon League Tournament ranked ninth on the CSU Singles Wins List with 69 career victories.

In doubles action, Mostardi has teamed with Benjamin Slade to form Cleveland State's No. 1 doubles team, owning a team-best 16-7 record this season. For their career, Mostardi and Slade rank fifth on the CSU Doubles Wins List with 24 wins as a tandem.

So far this spring, Mostardi has been named the Horizon League Singles Player of the Week a league-best three times, while he has also earned Horizon League Doubles Team of the Week accolades with Slade twice.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with Academic All-League honors in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or higher and have completed at least one year at the member institution.

2019 Men's Tennis All-Academic Team
Nico Mostardi, Cleveland State
Charlie Croxford, Green Bay
Miles McDowall, Green Bay
Blaine Carr, Northern Kentucky
Johan Hedstrom, UIC
Kailash Panchapakesan, UIC
Danylo Veremeichuk, Youngstown State