Mostardi & Etzkin Earn Major #HLMTEN Honors; Terry & Phillips Named All-League

Mostardi & Etzkin Earn Major #HLMTEN Honors; Terry & Phillips Named All-League

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – After capturing the 2019 Horizon League Regular Season Championship, the Cleveland State men's tennis team was honored with multiple postseason accolades from the league Thursday, with Nico Mostardi, Matthew Terry, Luke Phillips, and head coach Brian Etzkin all earning postseason awards.

Mostardi was named the 2019 Horizon League Player of the Year and First Team honoree, while Etzkin was tabbed the 2019 Horizon League Coach of the Year. Terry and Phillips both earned a spot on the All-Horizon League Second Team.

Mostardi picks up Player of the Year honors after posting an overall record of 23-10 this season, including a 15-6 mark at No. 1 singles this spring. In Horizon League play only Mostardi went 6-0 – the only league player to be undefeated at the top of the lineup.

Entering tournament play, Mostardi ranks ninth on the CSU Singles Wins List owning 69 career victories, and is just two wins shy of moving into eighth place on the list.

In doubles play, Mostardi has teamed with Benjamin Slade for the majority of the season, owning a team-best 11-6 record at No. 1 doubles this spring. In league play only, the duo owns a 3-1 mark this year, while they rank fifth on the CSU Team Doubles Wins List with 24 career wins as a tandem.

Mostardi is the first Viking to be a two-time Horizon League Player of the Year, and the sixth league player to earn multiple honors.

Mostardi's Previous Horizon League Honors: Freshman of the Year (2017), Player of the Year (2018), Second Team All-League (2017), First Team All-League (2018).

Terry earns a spot on the All-League Second Team after going 23-11 in singles play this season, including a 13-7 mark at the top-two spots in the lineup this spring. Terry played the entire league slate at the No. 2 singles spot, posting a 5-1 record.

Terry, who has posted two straight 20-win campaigns, recorded his 50th career singles win last weekend, becoming the first Viking all-time to reach the 50-win milestone as a sophomore.

In doubles action, Terry has teamed with Luke Phillips throughout the league slate, posting a 4-1 record at No. 2 doubles.

Terry is the seventh Viking to become a two-time Second Team honoree.

Terry's Previous Horizon League Honors: Freshman of the Year (2018), Second Team All-League (2018)

Phillips has been named to the All-League Second Team following a 5-1 regular season record against league opponents at the No. 3 singles spot. Overall this year, Phillips stands at 19-12, and is just one win shy of recording back-to-back 20-win campaigns.

This spring, Phillips owns a 16-6 singles record playing throughout the top half of the lineup, and has won five straight matches heading into tournament play.

In doubles action, Phillips has teamed with Matthew Terry throughout the league slate, posting a 4-1 record at No. 2 doubles. Overall this spring, Phillips is tied for the team lead with 13 doubles wins.

Phillips is the eighth Viking to become a two-time Second Team honoree.

Phillips' Previous Horizon League Honors: Second Team All-League (2018)

Etzkin was named the Coach of the Year after guiding the Vikings to their sixth Horizon League Regular Season championship following a perfect 6-0 #HLMTEN slate, and will lead the top-seeded Vikings in the upcoming Horizon League Tournament. Entering tournament play, the Vikings own a 17-7 overall record, marking the ninth time under Etzkin's guidance that the Vikings have eclipsed the 15-win mark.

Earlier this season, Etzkin recorded his 250th career victory with the men's team, becoming the first active Horizon League coach to reach the milestone with their current school.

This marks the fourth Horizon League Coach of the Year honor for Etzkin, as he is now one of just three coaches in Horizon League history with four or more league accolades.

2019 Horizon League Postseason Awards
Player of the Year: Nico Mostardi, Cleveland State
Freshman of the Year: Alex Jochim, IUPUI
Coach of the Year: Brian Etzkin, Cleveland State
Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award: Blaine Carr, Northern Kentucky & Ethan Mardanus-Budiono, IUPUI

First Team
Nico Mostardi, Cleveland State
James Ling, Green Bay
Alex Jochim, IUPUI
Nathan Schwartz, Northern Kentucky
Johan Hedstrom, UIC
Danylo Veremeichuk, Youngstown State

Second Team
Luke Phillips, Cleveland State
Matthew Terry, Cleveland State
Sean Bailey, IUPUI
Kasper Parlko, UIC
Niko Wasilewicz, UIC
Vasilis Vardakis, Youngstown State