Three Vikings Advance To Final Day Of Ball State Invite

Three Vikings Advance To Final Day Of Ball State Invite

Sept. 29, 2012

Contact: Renee Adam

Follow the Vikings on TWITTER
CSU Athletics on YouTube
Become a Fan on Facebook

Complete Day Two Results Get Acrobat Reader

MUNCIE, Ind. - Jorg van der Vloet and the doubles team of Matt Ford and Matt Kuelker led the Cleveland State men's tennis team Saturday at the Ball State Invite, advancing to the final day of action. van der Vloet is in the Flight A Consolation final, while Ford and Kuelker are in the final match of the Flight B Doubles draw.

van der Vloet picked up a 6-3, 6-3 victory over Jacob Wilson of Illinois State in the quarterfinals, and then earned a 6-3, 7-5 victory over Butler's Pulok Bhattacharya in his semifinal contest. He will now face Luis Elizondo of Louisville in the championship match at 9:00 a.m. Sunday (Sept. 30) morning.

Ford and Kuelker advanced to the final match of the Flight B Doubles draw following two wins on Saturday. In the quarterfinals they earned a 9-8 (6) victory over Dayton, then defeated Marquette, 8-2 in the semifinals. They are now set to face Colton Buffington and Van Damrongsri of Louisville Sunday at 9:00 a.m. in the championship match.

The doubles team of Ali Shabib and Niklas Jonsson also picked up a win for CSU Saturday, earning an 8-3 victory in the quarterfinals before dropping their first match of the season in an 8-6 decision to Ball State in the semifinals of the Flight A Doubles draw.

Action at the Ball State Fall Invite will wrap up tomorrow (Sunday, Sept. 30).

Flight A Singles:
Morrison (BSU) def. Shabib (CSU), 6-4, 6-0

Flight A Singles Consolation:
Bhattacharya (BU) def. VanMeter (CSU), 6-3, 6-2
van der Vloet (CSU) def. Wilson (ISU), 6-3, 6-3
van der Vloet (CSU) def. Bhattacharya (BU), 6-3, 7-5

Flight A Doubles:
Shabib/Jonsson (CSU) def. Andrews/Muadi (IPFW), 8-3
Albertin/Leonard (BSU) def. Shabib/Jonsson (CSU), 8-6
Brown/Elizondo (UL) def. VanMeter/van der Vloet (CSU), 8-5

Flight B Doubles:
Buffington/Damrongsri (UL) def. Jones/Marks (CSU), 8-1
Ford/Kuelker (CSU) def. Bernier/Malyon (UD), 9-8 (6)
Ford/Kuelker (CSU) def. Packowitz/Varela (MU), 8-2