Eric Winn and Jay Tee named to men's second team.

Eric Winn and Jay Tee named to men's second team.

April 22, 2005

INDIANAPOLIS - Cleveland State senior Eric Winn and junior Jay Tee have been named to the Horizon League men's all-league second team, the league announced this evening at the league championship banquet in Indianapolis. Meanwhile, sophomore Sarah Galon has been named the league Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

Winn and Tee represent the Vikings on the men's second team as Cleveland State's No. 1 and No. 2 singles players, respectively. Winn finished the regular season with 11 wins, while Tee score five of his six wins at the second spot after beginning the season at No. 4 and 5. The tandem teamed up for four wins at No. 1 doubles late in the season, including an 8-3 win over Wright State.

Galon earns the distinction after being named the Newcomer of the Year last season. She recorded a 6-1 record in both No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles in Horizon League play while notching a 17-12 singles mark and a 16-8 doubles record on the season. She is the team leader in singles wins thanks in part to nine victories in her last 12 matches.

The Horizon League Championship begins Saturday (April 23) in Indianapolis. The No. 4 seeded women's team takes on No. 5 Wright State at 9:00 a.m., while the No. 6 men's team battles No. 3 UIC beginning at 11:00 a.m.