Vikings to Face Big Ten, MAC Foes in Tri-Dual Again

Vikings to Face Big Ten, MAC Foes in Tri-Dual Again

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Cleveland State University wrestling team returns to dual action this weekend as it travels to Eastern Michigan Sunday, Dec. 11, to face the host Eagles and Big Ten foe Indiana.

The start times for the duals were recently changed and were pushed earlier in the day. Action is scheduled to get underway at 9:00 a.m. with EMU hosting the Vikings. CSU will then face the Hoosiers at 10:30 a.m.

This marks the second straight foray into dual action for the Vikings that will see them face a Big Ten foe and a Mid-American Conference opponent in a tri-dual format. These matches will also be the final duals for CSU before it begins facing conference opponents in January.

Cleveland State took part in the Storm Open last weekend, and two Vikings took home titles. Sophomore Evan Cheek won the championship at 141, becoming the fourth Viking to win an Open title this season. Redshirt junior Nick Corba brought home the hardware at 184 to win his second Open this season.

With his effort last Saturday, Corba became the first Viking to hit the double-digit win mark this season. He enters this weekend with a 10-2 record, and six of his wins have been bonus-point victories. Cheek moved to 8-3 on the season with his championship performance at the Storm Open. Five of his eight wins have come by major decision, technical fall or fall.

Redshirt senior RJ LaBeef (149) and freshman Devon Pingel (174) both own seven wins on the season. Pingel advanced to the championship match at the Storm Open and took second after dropping a match to a returning All-American in the final.

CSU is 8-5 all-time against Indiana in dual action. The Vikings won the last matchup against the Hoosiers, 24-13, a meeting that took place in December 2014. CSU and Indiana last faced one another on a neutral ground in the 2002-03 season. The Vikings are an even 11-11 all-time against Eastern Michigan, and Sunday will mark the 12th consecutive season the programs have faced one another in dual action. CSU fell to the Eagles last season but was victorious when the programs last met in Michigan in 2014-15. Senior Nick Montgomery owns victories over athletes from both Indiana and Eastern Michigan in dual meets in his career.

Eastern Michigan is 2-0 in dual action with a victory over fellow Eastern Wrestling League member Clarion. The Eagles have competed in a trio of tournament-style events and took third of 12 teams at the Keystone Classic in November as Kyle Springer won the title at 141. EMU also had two wrestlers place last weekend at the prestigious Cliff Keen Invitational with Noah Gonser at 125 and Gage Hutchison at 285. Gonser is ranked among the top 20 nationally at his weight class by multiple outlets.

Indiana owns a 4-1 mark in dual meets at the time of this writing, as it defeated both North Dakota State and SIU-Edwardsville last weekend. The Hoosiers are slated to open Big Ten competition Friday night against Wisconsin before traveling to EMU. Indiana also won the 12-team Navy Classic on the weekend before Thanksgiving, easily outdistancing the host school who finished second. Nate Jackson (184) and Bryce Martin (165) won titles at the Navy Classic for Indiana. Jackson is ranked among the top 10 nationally at his weight class by multiple outlets.

After these duals, the Vikings will finally get to compete at home, as they host the Cleveland State Open Saturday, Dec. 17.

CSU Projected Lineup
125: Spencer Dusi
133: Terrell Grant
141: Evan Cheek
149: Nick Montgomery
157: Grant Turnmire
165: John Vaughn
174: Devon Pingel
184: Nick Corba
197: Collin Kelly
285: Michael Furbee 

Eastern Michigan Projected Lineup
125: Noah Gonser OR Armando Torres
133: Shayne Wireman OR Sa'Derian Perry
141: Kyle Springer
149: Nick Barber
157: Zac Carson OR J.J. Wolfe
165: Devan Marry OR David Kasper
174: TBD
184: Kayne MacCallum
197: Derek Hillman
285: Gage Hutchison 

Indiana Projected Lineup
125: Elijah Oliver OR Liam Cronin
133: Garrett Pepple
141: Cole Weaver
149: Luke Blanton OR Chris Perez
157: Jake Danishek
165: Bryce Martin
174: Devin Skatzka
184: Nate Jackson
197: Jake Hinz OR Norman Conley
285: Fletcher Miller