Avona Named Second Team All-Horizon League

Avona Named Second Team All-Horizon League

Contact: Greg Murphy


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Cleveland State senior Jaime Avona was named to the All-Horizon League second team, while freshman Vickie Havas was voted to the all-newcomer team.

The league office made the announcement of the all-league teams on Monday afternoon.

Avona is making her first-ever appearance on the all-league team after ranking second in the league in goals (5) and seventh in points (12). Avona had a career highlight in an early season with at IUPUI when she became just the second player in program history to record a hat trick with three goals.

A four-year starter, Avona finished her career playing in 70 career matches with 68 starts. She tallied 22 points on nine goals and four assists. Her 22 career points rank fifth best in CSU history.

Havas had an outstanding freshman season, ranking second in the Horizon League in goals (5), assists (5) and points (15), which were all team highs. She scored at least one point in eight of the 15 matches she played in.

The Vikings finished the season with a 6-11 overall mark, battling through injuries to several key players all season.

Women's Soccer Award Winners - 
Player of the Year: Helen Steinhauser, Milwaukee
Offensive Player of the Year: Kaitlyn Quarrell, Detroit
Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Patterson, Wright State
Goalkeeper of the Year: Nora Abolins, Detroit
Newcomer of the Year: Ini Umotong, Wright State
Coach of the Year: Mike Lupenec, Detroit

First Team All-League: 
Helen Steinhauser, Milwaukee
Kaitlyn Quarrell, Detroit
Lauren Patterson, Wright State
Luisa Desario, Valparaiso
Alyssa Riley, Detroit
Kelly Lewers, Milwaukee
Rachel Hoaglin, Valparaiso
Jessica Hubly, Loyola
Jade Flory, Youngstown State
Kelsey Holbert, Milwaukee
Nora Abolins, Detroit


Second Team All-League: 
Megan Braatz, Green Bay
Krissy Dorre, Milwaukee
Chelsie Stoke, Loyola
Jaime Avona, Cleveland State
Abby McCollum, Detroit
Amy Kauffung, Milwaukee
Chelsea Haney, Youngstown State
Allie Metzler, Wright State
Sarah Dzuris, Detroit
Valerie Gonyo, Loyola
Brooke McCurdy, Wright State

All-Newcomer Team: 
Ini Umotong, Wright State
Rita Craven, Valparaiso
Sarrah Ludwig, Valparaiso
Heather Brown, Detroit
Mariah Vichich, Loyola
Vickie Havas, Cleveland State
Sydney Born, Green Bay
Ashli Gogolin, Wright State
Chelsey Haney, Youngstown State
Tyesha Kizer, Youngstown State
Jenny Fassbinder, Valparaiso
Shay Sade, Youngstown State