Joecken and Ries Earn Second Team All-Horizon League Honors

Joecken and Ries Earn Second Team All-Horizon League Honors

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Horizon League announced its softball postseason honors on Tuesday afternoon with Cleveland State senior utility player Mackenzie Joecken and junior catcher Riley Ries earning spots on the All-Horizon League Second Team.

This is the first time either player has earned a spot on an All-Horizon League team. Both players were named to the Horizon League All-Freshman team in their first seasons at CSU.

Joecken was one of the top utility players in the League this year, starting 36 games and making 18 starts as a pitcher. She hit .324 with 11 runs, seven doubles, five home runs and 24 RBI. In the circle, Joecken won six games and had six complete games, working 90.2 innings with a pair of shutouts and led the team with 80 strikeouts.

Ries was the only Viking to play in all 49 games this year, making 48 starts, including 44 behind the plate. She hit .333 with 16 runs and led the team in doubles (10), home runs (6) and RBI (31). Ries concluded the year by reaching base safely in 11 straight games and will enter the 2019 season with a seven-game hit streak. She had nine multi-RBI and 10 multi-hit games this year.

This is the second award for Ries in as many weeks as she was named to the Horizon League Softball All-Academic team last week.


Player of the Year
Lexi Watts, UIC

Pitcher of the Year
Ashley Sharp, Wright State

Freshman of the Year
Madison Jones, Oakland

Coach of the Year
Lynn Curylo, UIC 

All-League First Team
Chyanne Onstad, Green Bay
Sydney Ferrante, Northern Kentucky
Ava Lawson, Northern Kentucky
Madison Jones, Oakland
Taylor Cairns, UIC
Skylee James, UIC
Lexi Watts, UIC
Kayla Wedl, UIC
Honnah Susor, Wright State
Lexi Zappitelli, Youngstown State
Haley Zemmer, Oakland (Pitcher)
Ashley Sharp, Wright State (Pitcher)

All-League Second Team

Mackenzie Joecken, Cleveland State
Riley Ries, Cleveland State
Savvy Ferstle, Detroit Mercy
Courtney Gilbert, Detroit Mercy
Mandy Dallas, IUPUI
Delilah Wright, IUPUI
Taylor Brummell, Northern Kentucky
Kelsie Swanson, Oakland
Maddi Lusk, Youngstown State
Yazmine Romero, Youngstown State
Megan Overton, IUPUI (Pitcher)
Elle Buffenbarger, Youngstown State (Pitcher)

All-Freshman Team
Kayla Schwebke, Green Bay
Madison Jones, Oakland
Jessica Munson, Oakland
Alyssa Griman, UIC
Marley Hanlon, UIC
Maddie Spinks, UIC
Madison Whitaker, Wright State
Elle Buffenbarger, Youngstown State
Yazmine Romero, Youngstown State