Bullock & Jackson Share MVP Honors

Bullock & Jackson Share MVP Honors

April 23, 2009

Contact: Brian McCann

CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Seniors J'Nathan Bullock and Cedric Jackson shared the top honor for the second season in a row as over 150 people came together to celebrate the 2008-09 Viking men's basketball season at the annual end of the year banquet held on Sunday, April 19.

"This is one of the only occasions during the year that we take time to look back on all of the good things that have happened," CSU head coach Gary Waters said. "This was a very good year for Viking basketball and it is nice to honor all of the people who helped make it possible.

"We went into the season with a goal of being Horizon League champions and earning that title on the biggest stage possible. By winning the league championship game at Butler, we accomplished that goal.

"To earn a bid in the NCAA Championship and then go and beat a team like Wake Forest is a testament to the character of the players in the program, and most importantly the seniors."

The Vikings did more than that, going 26-11 to finish with the second-highest win total in school history while the NCAA Tournament appearance marked just the second time -- and first in 23 years -- that CSU appeared in that forum.

Bullock and Jackson, each of whom were named to the All-Horizon League team this season, shared the Varsity "C" Club Player of the Year Award.

"To try and define who was more important to this team is an impossible task," Waters said. "Their skills complimented each other so well that we were simply a better team when both were on the court."

In other awards presented, George Tandy was named the recipient of the Spirit Award, which was dedicated by assistant coach Larry DeSimpelare in the name of longtime Viking supporter Packy Hyland, who DeSimpelare noted, "has more spirit than any person I know."

It was no surprise that Jackson, who was named the league's defensive player of the year award after leading the nation with 112 total steals, was tabbed as the squad's top defensive player.

Sophomore Norris Cole, who started every game and was second on the team with a 13.3 scoring average, was chosen as the most improved player.

Jeremy Montgomery was honored as the Freshman of the Year after coming off the bench to average 4.0 points a game. He was the lone CSU rookie to play in all 37 games.

Tim Kamczyc, who redshirted this season, was given the squad's Academic Award.

In addition, Jackson (assists), Bullock (rebounding), D'Aundray Brown (field goal percentage), Trevon Harmon (free throw percentage) and Chris Moore (blocked shots) each received specialty awards for leading CSU in a statistical category.

A complete list of awards presented follows:

Varsity "C" Club Player of the Year: J'Nathan Bullock & Cedric Jackson
Spirit Award: George Tandy
Most Improved: Norris Cole
Best Defender: Cedric Jackson
Freshman of the Year: Jeremy Montgomery
Academic Award: Tim Kamczyc
Assist Award: Cedric Jackson
Rebound Award: J'Nathan Bullock
Blocked Shots: Chris Moore
Field Goal Award: D'Aundray Brown
Free Throw Award: Trevon Harmon