Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Cleveland State University Vikings

Vikings Set For YSU Collegiate Invitational

Vikings Set For YSU Collegiate Invitational

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Cleveland State track and field team will be back in action this weekend, making the short trip to Youngstown State for the YSU Collegiate Invitational on Friday, January 18. Friday's meet will be the fourth of eight events for the Vikings during the 2018-19 indoor campaign.

Complete YSU Collegiate Invitational Schedule | Running and field events are set to begin at 12:30 p.m. at the Watson and Tressel Training Site.

Brandt Earns #HLTF Honors | Following her record setting performance in the 800 Meter Run at the Marshall Women's Classic last weekend, sophomore Anna Brandt was named the Horizon League Runner of the Week. Brandt posted a CSU record time of 2:14.75 in the event, marking the fastest time among Horizon League runners so far this season. 

CSU Record Book | The Vikings added to their record setting season last time out at the Marshall Women's Classic, as Anna Brandt (800 Meter Run – 2:14.75), Monica Johnson (60 Meter Hurdles – 9.09) and Tylar Mixon (200 Meter Dash – 25.95) all set CSU records. Cleveland State has now set at least one record in all three meets so far this season. 

Horizon League Times | Entering Friday's meet at YSU, four Vikings have posted marks that rank among the top-five in the Horizon League so far this season, including Anna Brandt who leads the league in the 800 Meter Run. Brandt is also among the top-five in the Mile Run, while Jessica Finley ranks in the top-five in the 3000 and 5000 Meter Run, Monica Johnson ranks fifth in the 60 Meter Hurdles, and Hannah Gaskins ranks fifth in the High Jump. Cleveland State's 4x400 Meter Relay team of Brandt, Gaskins, Tylar Mixon, and Lauren Zawie also ranks third.

The Vikings | Cleveland State is under the direction of third-year head coach Madeleine Outman Carleton, and returns 11 letterwinners from last year's indoor squad. Included in this group is the trio of Anna Brandt, Julianne Dorothal and Hannah Gaskins, who all earned podium finishes at the #HLTF Indoor Championships last season.