Track & Field Heads To Fred Hardy Invitational

Track & Field Heads To Fred Hardy Invitational

CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Cleveland State track and field team will return to action this weekend, taking part in the Fred Hardy Invitational hosted by the University of Richmond on Friday, March 29 and Saturday, March 30.

Complete Fred Hardy Invitational Schedule | On Friday, field events will begin at 12:00 p.m. while track events will start at 5:00 p.m. On Saturday, field events are slated for a 9:00 a.m. start, with track events beginning at 11:00 a.m.

2019 Outdoor Schedule | This weekend's meet will be the second of seven outdoor meets for the Vikings this season, and marks the second time that Cleveland State will be competing in the state of Virginia.

#HLTF Academic Honors | Last week, sophomore Anna Brandt was named to the #HLTF Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team, earning a spot on the 17-member team after carrying a perfect 4.0 GPA. Brandt is studying health science/pre-physical therapy/exercise science, and has been named to the Cleveland State Dean's List every semester of her collegiate career. 

CSU Record Book | Through just one outdoor meet so far this season, the Vikings have set or tied four individual records and one relay record. Anna Brandt posted program-best times in the 800 and 1500 Meter Runs at the 49er Classic, while Mijah Collier ran a record time in the 100 Meter Hurdles and Hannah Gaskins tied the school record in the High Jump. Cleveland State's 4x800 Relay Team of Deja Emmanus, Mijah Collier, Deanna Swinerton, and Adelle Tannous also set a program-best mark last time out. 

#HLTF Standings | Entering the weekend, Cleveland State leads the league in three individual events; 100 Meter Dash (Tylar Mixon-12.48), 100 Meter Hurdles (Mijah Collier-14.77) and High Jump (Hannah Gasksins-1.63), while the Vikings also have the league's best 4x100 Meter Relay time so far this season (48.60).

The Vikings | Cleveland State is under the direction of third-year head coach Madeleine Outman Carleton, and returns 11 letterwinners from last year's outdoor squad. Included in this group is the duo of Hannah Gaskins and Anna Brandt, who earned individual All-Horizon League honors at the #HLTF Outdoor Championship last season.