Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

The Official Home of the Cleveland State University Vikings

Brandt Paces Vikings At Tommy Evans Invitational

Brandt Paces Vikings At Tommy Evans Invitational

NORTON, Ohio – The Cleveland State cross country team continued the 2019 campaign Saturday, competing in the Tommy Evans Invitational.

"Overall, we had a much better team performance this week then we did in the season opener last weekend," head coach Jason Hudson said. "We are slowly putting the mental pieces in place so that when we get to the championship season – All-Ohio, Horizon League, Regionals – we will be physically and mentally ready to compete at a high level."

For the second straight week the Vikings were paced by junior Anna Brandt, who finished fourth overall with a 5K time of 18:12. Brandt's fourth place finish marked the seventh top-five individual finish of her collegiate career, and her first top-five finish this season.

Olivia Hammons was the next Viking to cross the finish line (19:46), while freshman Hannah Korte finished in the top-three for the Vikings for the second straight week of her collegiate career. Korte finished in a time of 20:04, while her classmate Haley Rozeski finished in 20:08.

The Viking trio of Grace Holmes (20:28), Zoe Lexovsky (20:40) and Lily Michael (20:42) were the next runners to finish for Cleveland State, while Jessica Byler (21:03), Heather McArdle (21:10) and Abbey Rojeck (21:41) had strong showings for CSU on Saturday.

Also competing for the Vikings were Kylie Scott (22:02) and Deanna Swinerton (22:20), who appeared in the Cleveland State lineup for the first time this season.

The Vikings will now take a break from competition until later this month when they return to the course at the All-Ohio Championship on Saturday, September 28.

Tommy Evans Invitational Results
4. Anna Brandt, 18:12
44. Olivia Hammons, 19:46
53. Hannah Korte, 20:04
57. Haley Rozeski, 20:08
63. Grace Holmes, 20:28
67. Zoe Lexovsky, 20:40
68. Lily Michael, 20:42
78. Jessica Byler, 21:03
80. Heather McArdle, 21:10
89. Abbey Rojeck, 21:41
96. Kylie Scott, 22:02
102. Deanna Swinerton, 22:20